FINE ARTS header_icon

CONTACT INFORMATION

Tel: 706.385.1000
Tel: 855.37.POINT
Email: admissions@point.edu

Office Hours: 8am-5pm

MAILING ADDRESS:

Point University – Attn: Enrollment
507 West 10th Street
West Point, GA 31833

FACULTY

Byron J. Cartwright, D.M.A. [bio]
Professor of Music, Department Head
Byron.Cartwright@point.edu

Katie L. Cartwright, Ph.D. [bio]
Professor of Music Theory and Piano
Katie.Cartwright@point.edu

Joshua Boyd, Ed.D. [bio]
Director of Athletic Bands
Joshua.Boyd@point.edu

Lanier Motes
Director of Scott Fine Arts Center
Lanier.motes@point.edu

Deron Garing
Professor of Percussion
Deron.garing@point.edu

Cindy Wilson
Professor of Strings

Michael Daniell
Director of Concert Band, Professor of Brass
Michael.daniell@point.edu

Brian Smith
Professor of Guitar
Brian.smith@point.edu

Jeff Earle
Technology
Jeff.earle@point.edu

Staci Culbreth
Professor of Woodwinds
Staci.culbreth@point.edu

Roger Beale
Professor of Voice
Roger.beale@point.edu

Donna Weaver
Director of MusiKids, Professor of Voice
Donna.weaver@point.edu

Point University’s Department of Fine Arts offers students the opportunity to develop their musical skills in a Christian context, learn from church and community musicians and enjoy the rich cultural opportunities the Point community has to offer. The University’s music degrees prepare students for performance, music ministry or specialized graduate study.

The University currently offers the following degrees in music:

Students in both programs may specialize in worship and music ministry, performance and pedagogy, or music production. A minor in biblical studies is required for both degrees.

Point’s Department of Fine Arts also boasts a variety of ensembles and other opportunities for music majors to refine their skills outside the classroom, including:

  • Signature Voices
  • On Point Men’s Quartet
  • Point Community Band
  • Point University Concert Choir

In addition to campus, church and school performances, Point groups have appeared on television and have performed for local civic events, sporting events, at youth and adult conventions and in concert with other college performing arts groups.

AUDITION REQUIREMENTS FOR MUSIC MAJORS

Students interested in the major in music at Point audition with the music faculty and complete the Music Aptitude Test and the Music Theory Placement Test before beginning classes. The music major student is a member of the Point University Concert Choir each semester, and declares an applied major and minor. All music majors perform a junior recital or the equivalent in the applied major; those with the performance and pedagogy specialization perform a senior recital.

OPPORUNITIES FOR NON-MUSIC MAJORS

Music courses are provided without audition for non-music majors, such as music fundamentals, music appreciation and class instruction in applied music. All Point students are eligible to audition for the Point University Concert Choir and other ensembles. Applied music instruction is offered to non-music majors if prerequisites are met and permission is secured from the department chair. Other courses in music may be taken by non-majors (as electives) with the approval of the department chair.

RESOURCES

Scholarships
Music scholarships are available for a limited number of talented students. Scholarships are based on a student’s audition and application. Please refer to the Music Scholarship Application Form for full details on this process.

Scholarship values range depending on student talent, need and availability.

Internships
Fine Arts students have access to a multitude of internship opportunities, including positions at public and private schools, local churches, radio stations and more. Visit the Center for Calling and Career for more information on current internship openings.

Point Catalog

MARCHING BAND

Scholarships are available for students who join the marching band.   This is a separate scholarship opportunity from the music major scholarship.  You do not have to audition to be a member of the marching band.

To request additional information about the marching band scholarship, or to join the marching band, please contact:

Dr. Joshua Boyd
Director of Athletic Bands