Point University was founded as Atlanta Christian College in 1937 by Judge T. O. Hathcock (1879-1966), who served on the bench in Fulton County, Georgia, from 1914 until 1942. He and his wife, Nora Hathcock, were members of the independent Christian Church; to this day, the University maintains its affiliation with the Christian Churches and Churches of Christ. 

Point University’s main campus is located in West Point, Georgia, while its historic campus was located in East Point, Georgia, a suburb of Atlanta. The campus was a part of a 300-acre farm inherited by Nora Head Hathcock. With a barn, livestock and cultivated fields, the campus in its earliest days had a distinctly rural flavor.

Following its founding, Point University devoted attention primarily to the education of ministers, missionaries and other church-related workers. In 1965, the college became an accredited member of the American Association of Bible Colleges (AABC). In 1990, in conjunction with a broadening of the curriculum, the college was accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) to award the associate and baccalaureate degrees. The University’s education programs have earned accreditation by the National Council on Accreditation Teacher Education (NCATE) and the Professional Standards Commission (PSC) of the State of Georgia. 

In February 2011, the board of trustees announced that the college’s name would change to Point University on July 1. In fall 2012, the traditional, residential campus relocated to West Point, Georgia, and the growing Greater Valley area.

The University’s curriculum currently offers majors in areas of study ranging from biblical studies to biology. Degree programs are offered for traditional college students, high school students pursuing dual credit enrollment, online and graduate students. 

The University has had seven presidents:

  • George W. BonDurant (1937-47)
  • Orvel C. Crowder (1947-55)
  • James C. Redmon (1955-78)
  • Paul K. Carrier (1978-84)
  • James C. Donovan (1984-93)
  • R. Edwin Groover (1993-2006)
  • Dean C. Collins (2006–Present)

Online Programs

Point University - On-Campus Programs
Point offers more than 25 in-demand fully online programs that are both affordable and flexible, so you can learn on your own schedule from the convenience of your own home – or from anywhere in the world.

Popular Online Programs

Prepare for a career in high-demand fields, spanning every area of commerce.
A.A. / B.S.
Be equipped to work with young children in a variety of settings, preparing activities and environments that foster physical, social, emotional, spiritual, and cognitive development.
Learn to effect positive change and improve the wellbeing of individuals, families, communities, organizations, and the human population as a whole.

On-Campus Programs

Point University - On-Campus Programs
Located in West Point, Georgia, Point University offers students a safe, vibrant atmosphere for them to build a Christ-centered community while earning their degree.
Prepare for a career in high-demand fields, spanning every area of commerce.
B.A. / B.S.
Develop your spiritual gifts, strengthen your faith and enhance your knowledge of Christian principles.
Our counseling degree provides a solid foundation for understanding people and the various ways to help them.